What Alice Forgot: A Book Review

Liane Moriarty’s What Alice Forgot is a novel about a woman who forgets the last ten years of her life.

Checkout this video:


In Liane Moriarty’s What Alice Forgot, the main character Alice Love wakes up from a ten-year coma to discover that she’s forgetting the last decade of her life. She must piece together the events that led to her coma, as well as reconcile with the person she has become.

What Alice Forgot – A Book Review

Did you ever have one of those days where everything goes wrong? You wake up late, can’t find your keys, spill coffee on your shirt, and then your boss yells at you for being late. We’ve all been there. But what if you had a day so bad that you forgot who you were?

In Liane Moriarty’s novel, What Alice Forgot, that’s exactly what happens to the book’s namesake. After hitting her head during a spin class, Alice Love wakes up with no memory of the last ten years of her life. She doesn’t remember getting married, having children, or even that she was ever unhappy. All she knows is that she used to be carefree and happy-go-lucky, and she wants her life back.

What follows is an emotional journey as Alice tries to piece together her forgotten life and figure out who she has become. Along the way, she must confront her friends, her family, and her own memories to discover the truth about what happened to her.

Moriarty has written a complex and thought-provoking novel about marriage, motherhood, and self-discovery. What Alice Forgot is a touching story about love and loss, and how our lives can change in ways we never could have imagined.

Liane Moriarty – The Author

Liane Moriarty is an Australian author who has written ten novels, including ‘What Alice Forgot’. She has also co-written three novels with her sister Nicola. Her books have been translated into more than thirty languages and have sold over fourteen million copies worldwide.

Moriarty began her career as a copywriter and stayed at home to raise her children after the birth of her first child. It was during this time that she wrote her first novel, ‘Three Wishes’. She has said that she wrote the novel in order to stay sane while she was at home with her young children.

The Plot

Liane Moriarty’s What Alice Forgot tells the story of Alice Love, a 39-year-old mother of three who falls off her exercise bike, hits her head, and forgets the last ten years of her life. The story is told through Alice’s own eyes as she tries to reconnect with her husband and three children, whom she barely recognizes. As Alice pieces together her forgotten past, she must also deal with the present day reality that her life is not as perfect as she thought it was.

The plot of What Alice Forgot is compelling and Moriarty does a great job of keeping the reader engaged. The characters are well-developed and easy to relate to. I particularly liked the way that Moriarty explored the concept of memory and how it shapes our perception of ourselves and our lives. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone looking for an enjoyable read.

The Characters

In Liane Moriarty’s novel, “What Alice Forgot”, the reader is taken on a journey with the main character, Alice Love, as she struggles to regain her memory after suffering a head injury. Along the way, she must contend with her overbearing mother, her “perfect” sister, and her ex-husband who is now married to her former best friend. As she pieces together her past, Alice begins to realize that the life she thought she had was not as perfect as she thought it was.

The characters in this novel are richly drawn and multi-dimensional. Alice is a sympathetic character who is easy to root for, even when she makes mistakes. Her mother is frustratingly meddlesome, but also loving in her own way. Alice’s sister is cold and distant, but also has her own flaws. The supporting cast of characters is also well-developed and add depth to the story.

Overall, Moriarty has created a compelling tale of love, family, and friendship that will resonate with readers long after they finish the last page.


There are several themes in What Alice Forgot. First, is the theme of family and friends. The novel focuses on Alice’s relationships with her mother, her sister, and her friends. Second, is the theme of marriage and divorce. The novel deals with Alice’s marriage to Nick and their divorce. Third, is the theme of motherhood. The novel focuses on Alice’s experience as a mother of three children. Fourth, is the theme of aging. The novel deals with Alice’s experience of forgetting her life from age 29 to age 39, and how she must face the fact that she is now ten years older than she thought she was.

Alice – The Protagonist

Alice is the main character of Liane Moriarty’s novel, What Alice Forgot. Alice is29 years old when she hits her head and falls, forgetting the last ten years of her life. The story is told from Alice’s perspective, as she tries to remember who she was and who she has become.

As the story progresses, Alice gradually remembers more and more about the past ten years. She remembers that she was once a carefree young woman, but she slowly became consumed by her marriage and her children. In the present, Alice is struggling to cope with the challenges of parenting teenagers.

Throughout the novel, Alice must confront her fears and insecurities in order to remember who she really is. She also has to learn to forgive herself for the mistakes she has made in the past. Ultimately, Alice learns that life is too short to waste time on things that don’t matter.

The Conclusion

In conclusion, “What Alice Forgot” is a heartwarming novel that will leave readers laughing, crying, and wanting more. Liane Moriarty has once again delivered a captivating story that will stay with readers long after they turn the last page.

Readers’ Feedback

Readers’ Feedback

I picked up What Alice Forgot on a whim. I had never read anything by Liane Moriarty before, but I enjoyed the premise of the book and thought it would be a fun, light read. I was not disappointed.

The book tells the story of Alice Love, a 37-year-old mother of three who wakes up from a ten-year-long coma with no memories of her adult life. Alice must piece together her life from the bits and pieces she remembers from her childhood and teenage years. Along the way, she learns some uncomfortable truths about herself and her marriage.

Moriarty does an excellent job of creating fully developed characters that are easy to relate to. The story is engaging and fast-paced, with plenty of twists and turns to keep readers guessing. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a enjoyable read.

Awards and Nominations

Alice Love is twenty-nine, married to Nick, and pregnant with their first child. She’s in her final trimester, and she’s feeling a little forgetful. So when she blacks out and falls headfirst down the stairs at her daughter Elise’s christening party, no one is more surprised than Alice herself.

When Alice wakes up in the hospital nine months later, she has no memory of the fall or of the past ten years. She doesn’t recognize her husband or her daughter – or her own face in the mirror. To make matters worse, Nick informs her that they’re getting divorced and that he’s been having an affair with one of her best friends.

As Alice tries to put the pieces of her life back together, she realizes that she may not have liked who she was before the accident – but can she really start over?

What Alice Forgot has been nominated for numerous awards, including the British Book Award and the Australian Book Industry Award.

Scroll to Top